Michaeline: What fresh genre is this?

I’m sharing this here because I love the simple (and comedic) breakdown of major genres.

Care to add anything?

Eight Ladies Writing

Choosing a genre can be heartwrenching if your story doesn't quite fit. Choosing a genre can be heartwrenching if your story doesn’t quite fit.

I’m deeply suspicious of the writing tool called “genre”. My favorite bookin the universe combines romance with gender politics, politics in general, mystery, thrills, and both science fiction and SFnal realism . . . and I might be missing a few genre-type areas. If Lois McMaster Bujold had tried to pare her fiction down to some sleek genre archetype, I think she would have quickly gotten bored and stopped writing. And from a purely selfish viewpoint, that would have been a tragedy.

Genre is a tool, though, and can be useful in shaping your story. But more importantly,

View original post 246 more words

4 thoughts on “Michaeline: What fresh genre is this?

  1. Thanks for reblogging! I would love to hear if your readers have other suggestions. (-: I think we should invent some new genres.

    Like

    • You’re welcome. 😉
      I’m all for inventing new genres. The ugly truth is that many writers have, I think, but their work remains “unmarketable” because the current genre division doesn’t account for much variation. Perhaps that will continue to change. 🙂

      Like

      • I’m a newbie and a wide-eyed optimist, but if it’s good, it will find a publisher (or in these days of self-publishing, an audience). Or so I’d like to think — one of my favorite authors started off in the military fiction genre because that was the publisher who connected with her storytelling first. I kind of wonder what would have happened with her career if she’d been published by one of the bigger, broader publishers first. She might have had more audience, but then again, she might have not had the same amount of creative control (and she has excellent tastes, as far as I’m concerned!) with a bigger publisher.

        A lot of her books didn’t really fit into her publisher’s vision, but he still supported her by publishing her books.

        I do think tags and reviews are going to be the wave of the future. Smart readers are going to do a little research before buying, and they’ll know which keywords mean a great reading experience for them.

        Like

      • Optimism is a great quality to have, especially in a creative environment.

        The future reading (and publishing) experience has unlimited possibilities. It’s a daunting task just to keep up with today’s rapid pace of change (for me, anyway), so I’m laying low, waiting to see what happens.

        Like

Share your thoughts!

