The Problem of Sleep

I swear that sleeping gas is pumped into this house.

image

I used to stay up until midnight or later and still get up at 5 am to get the kids off to school. Now, though… I’m lucky to make it to 10 pm.

I know it has a lot to do with my job. Staring at a computer screen for 8 hours is draining, and when I get home all I want to do is look at the walls. There’s no creative energy swirling around to keep me motivated. My mind enters into sleep mode as soon as I walk through the door, almost seeming like a punishment for making it endure so many hours of artless work.

The overwhelming urge to sleep has affected my writing time. The quiet hours of the night is when I prefer to write. No distractions; just my pen and notebook. But now I’m dozing before I’ve completed an idea. Perhaps I’m dreaming a story, but by morning I’ve forgotten.

Perhaps I need a change of scenery, a small wrench thrown into the wheel of my routine. Just enough to wake me up, to make me aware of the creative mode sleep is denying me. Not that I don’t want to sleep, mind you, but I’m not yet ready to settle into the forty-hour-per-week drain monster that’s lately devouring my brain.

Creative stimulation. That’s what I need. Yes. I’m on a mission. (Insert Mission Impossible music.)

Any advice out there, dear blogger-friends, to break this trend?

Tweet me @PuddledThoughts

(Image via the internets)
[Is this your image? Let me know so I can give proper credit.]

Live. Love. Write.

Share your thoughts!

